Nineteen climate vulnerable countries have signed the Climate Vulnerable Forum 2011 Dhaka Declaration: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Costa Rica, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Kiribati, Madagascar, Maldives, Nepal, Philippines, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Vietnam.
Among other things, signatories declare:
1. We underscore that it is incumbent upon the developed countries, given their historical responsibility to climate change and taking into account their commitments to reduce our vulnerability, to extend all necessary support to our vulnerable countries so as to be able to respond to the challenges posed by climate change….
3. We, as vulnerable countries, resolve to demonstrate moral leadership by committing to a low-carbon development path on a voluntary basis within the limitations of our respective capabilities, which are to a large extent externally determined by the availability of appropriate financial and technological support, and call on all other nations to follow this moral leadership.
It is unclear what effect this declaration will have on the Bangladesh Government’s approach to London-listed GCM Resources‘ proposed open cast coal mine at Phulbari in the north west of the country, or on GCM Resources’ seeming determination to push the project through.
GCM resources holds its AGM in London on 15 December.